RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > General > Ultrasonic cleaning of plastic manifolds on TDV8?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1

Slowpoke Disco

Australia 2008 Range Rover Sport TDV8 S Stornoway Grey
Ultrasonic cleaning of plastic manifolds on TDV8?

Hi everyone,
a newbie here from Australia.
Has anyone successfully, or otherwise, tried ultrasonically cleaning of plastic manifolds or even things like oil separator parts for their TDV8? My 3.6 has been diagnosed with excessive carbon buildup inlet manifold and intake pipes leading to oil coming out of the dipstick. I've only seen one other person on the forums having this exact issue and they never said what the cause was..

I'm thinking about cleaning the inlet manifolds, air intake pipes, crankcase ventilation oil return drain pipes etc but before I do, and possible stuff them up completely I thought I'd ask. I've seen cleaning of injectors on the forum but not manifolds and given their cost new here in Australia I'm keen to look at options.

Any brilliant ideas?

Cheers

Post #608142 Mon Jan 04 2021 11:56am
IronDuke50

United Kingdom 2013 Range Rover Sport 4.4 V8 Autobiography Firenze Red

Best of luck. Ive left this site,

Last edited by IronDuke50 on Fri Jan 08 2021 12:37am. Edited 1 time in total

Post #608151 Mon Jan 04 2021 4:32pm
Slowpoke Disco

Yep that looks even more tempting now I've seen what they did with that manifold in particular. I'm going to a cylinder head rebuilder tomorrow for my boat motor and I know they use their ultrasonic cleaner for their headwork so I'll see if I can organise them to try one of my manifolds. There's no end to what could potentially be cleaned.

Assuming they say yes then I guess the next thing I need to plan is when I could do the work, pulling all the manifolds etc and then organising new gaskets etc so my car isn't off the road for weeks waiting for parts.