RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > General > Cracked inlet manifold
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>

Phil2k

United Kingdom 2012 Range Rover Sport SDV6 Autobiography Santorini Black
Cracked inlet manifold

As the title says, it happened 31 days after purchase and the garage are being funny, had quotes around 1.5k for both doing. Do you think the garage I bought it from are in breach of consumer rights

Post #602123 Fri Jul 24 2020 3:59pm
RRSTDV8

United Kingdom 2012 Range Rover Sport SDV6 HSE Orkney Grey

The garage is liable, I would say. Although if only one has cracked, you can only expect them to replace that one, not both.

£1.5k seems ball park for both. Manifolds are about £250 each and it's a day's work to replace them both. Lots has to be taken off/put back on when doing them.

I'm not a lawyer, so any legal advice from me has no weight. Thumbs Up 2012 SDV6 - it's missing a couple of cylinders
2008 TDV8 - it was a labour of love and is much missed

Post #602126 Fri Jul 24 2020 5:02pm
Andy K

England 2005 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Rimini Red

Isn’t a 6 month warranty mandatory from traders.

Post #602127 Fri Jul 24 2020 5:27pm
Mathewdowns

United Kingdom 

Think 3 months is the mandatory length from dealer but I could also be wrong!
Happened to me too, they replaced it with no issue and all was good..... hindsight I should have had other done at same time so if you can add/pay for second I would.

Post #602132 Fri Jul 24 2020 8:42pm
Disco_Mikey

United Kingdom 2010 Range Rover Sport Supercharged HSE Santorini Black

Andy K wrote:
Isn’t a 6 month warranty mandatory from traders.

3 month warranty, 6 month "fit for purpose " Thumbs Up

Post #602137 Fri Jul 24 2020 10:02pm
Phil2k

Independent dealers don't have to give any warranty. But consumer rights trumps all. Just going to have to wait to see what he says

Post #602138 Fri Jul 24 2020 10:11pm
RRSTDV8

United Kingdom 2012 Range Rover Sport SDV6 HSE Orkney Grey