RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > Technical > Some sort of electrical problem
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1

Dappz

Some sort of electrical problem

Hi. I'm a newbie to this forum and need a bit of help with a 2010 RRS TDV6 I bought last week.
I bought the vehicle damaged off my mate. The rear tailgate is smashed and the vehicle has been stood for two month and the battery had gone dead. I had to get into the vehicle using the key blade on the front passenger door and accessed the bonnet and fitted a new battery. Once the battery was fitted, I couldn't unlock the remaining doors with the fob so had to climb in from the passenger side. The vehicle would not recognise the smart key so after about 10 mins of trying to start it by placing the smart key under the steering column, I managed to get it started.
The problem that I'm left with now is that once I get it running the doors cannot be unlocked, the windows don't work, the heaters don't work and the stereo/computer don't work either.
Does anyone know what might be causing this? Is it some control unit at fault?

Thanks

Post #433874 Thu Aug 21 2014 12:37pm
Ady 555
Site Moderator

United Kingdom 2012 Range Rover Sport SDV6 HSE Santorini Black

These RRS are very temperamental when it comes to the electrics. A lot of your issues will be caused by the dead battery. You really need to give it a FULL charge or replace it like for like if the battery is naff. Are the rear lights smashed too? Faulty rear brake light bulbs cause all sorts of warning lights to show up on the dash.
Welcome to RRS ownership and to the site. Hope you get it sorted. Thumbs Up

Post #433877 Thu Aug 21 2014 1:06pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
Beancounter_74

England 

Have you checked the fuses (behind the glovebox) ?

As Ady says, I would do a full charge, then a 'hard' reset and see what that does. ON THE WAY: BMW F21 M140i