RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > General > Planning to buy one (currently an x5 owner)
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1

peacemf

Planning to buy one (currently an x5 owner)

hellooo

well i had a bmw x5 3.0d for a while, and now its acting up to the point where i might part exchange it for a RRS.
I have RHD x5 (UK), but im a student Smile and need the car in the czech republic......so currently the x5 is in Brno (a city in CZ) for repairs Sad

Any advice on what to look for in a RRS - i planned to get a used one?

Also anybody else have experience from jumping from the x5 ship to the RRS?

Also is it better to go for diesel or petrol (and then convert to LPG) ?

many thanks for the advice Smile

Post #172731 Fri Jun 13 2008 9:48pm
will_wonka

United Kingdom 
Re: Planning to buy one (currently an x5 owner)

Welcome aboard!! Thumbs Up

peacemf wrote:

Any advice on what to look for in a RRS - i planned to get a used one?

Loads of resource on here, the best on the net - best to have a generic search to gain information....it is endless!! Shocked

peacemf wrote:
Also anybody else have experience from jumping from the x5 ship to the RRS?

Yep. Best move I made, yes the X5 is a good car, but is not in the same league of the RRS......I had the 4.4 petrol V8 (i'm a petrolhead). You will not be disappointed, for me, the RRS has better fit and finish, better drive and way better looks......it still commands looks for what is now approaching a 4 year old model....so it has to be a winner!! Thumbs Up

peacemf wrote:
Also is it better to go for diesel or petrol (and then convert to LPG) ?

The 2.7 Diesel is no drag racer, but it is also not too much of a slouch considering it is hauling around such a huge weight. The TDV8 is {apparently) a beast to be reckoned with and offers reasonable MPG for such a great engine - power wise 0-60 it is only 1.5 secs slower than the Supercharger and offers HUGE Torque Shocked.