RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > Off Roading & Green Laning > Off Roading and 22's
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 3 123>

ViewWise

United Kingdom 2008 Range Rover Sport TDV8 HSE Java Black
Off Roading and 22's

Just wondering exactly HOW useless are 22's off road? 2" bigger rim alot less tyre is obviously a bad combo for off roading. I have no experience at all off road though and just interested in really where having 22's would become dangerous in off road conditions.

I ask because although im keeping the regular 20's in the garage should i need them for any uk fun. If im half way accross europe and decide im bored of tarmac. Just curious to know how well the range could handle snow/sand with 22's on it.

Alfie.

Post #159982 Sun Mar 16 2008 3:15pm
NickM

United Kingdom 

Hey VW - i have always been told you're more likely just to damage the wheel offroad as opposed to anything else - I have just had 22 put on my car - but not sure if I'll ever get it off road.....

Post #159985 Sun Mar 16 2008 4:17pm
Tim in Scotland

2013 Range Rover Sport SDV6 HSE Stornoway Grey

I believe the problem is the low sidewall, it is easily detached from the rim and also offers no protection to the alloy. RRUK got his 20" S/C wheels very badly scratched just driving across a field to go shooting...................
Those of us who off road now and again have a set of 19" wheels with MTR's or a set of winter tyres on them that have a much higher sidewall and also means the nice 20" wheels stay nice. 2020 Pangea Green 1st Edition D240 New Defender 110 is here and loving it
2018 Melting Silver Mini Countryman PHEV - soon to be replaced
2015MY Corris Grey SDv6 HSE Dynamic, the best car I have ever owned, totally reliable only a cou0le of rattles in 3 years, now no longer in my care
Also in my garage is a 1996 TDi300 Defender 90 County HT made into a fake CSW

Post #160004 Sun Mar 16 2008 5:53pm