RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > Off Topic > Help with Computers..
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>

kam100

United Kingdom 
Help with Computers..

As some of you may know (from previous posts).
I am a trainee accountant and work in a family run/owned firm in central Birmingham. One of the things which i introduced to the company was a centralised network and DSL broadband internet network, which works well and manages to help me occupy some free time (on forums like this!).

However, despite doing most of the hard work and installing all the wiring and the central routers and connection devices, we are having major problems with the actual desk top PC's and software installations on the actual personal PC's. Some are running 98, others are running 2000, and despite having XP working alongside for some time (and completely working) they decided to be non compatible and shut them selves out of the network and go offline... (for which there doesn't seem to be a fix!?)

We have had a couple of IT groups come in, and give us a system diagnosis and quote for updating and bringing in a complete system, but they either quote way off the scale or don't bother coming back.. ?? (why i don't know).. we are willing to spend the money, and i know in my mind what we are after, just for someone to come in, install localised new pc units, and synchronise one operating system across the board which can run all our software programmes (sage being the most important) and make sure all the online uploads etc work, and then provide remote (telephone) backup once the system is up and running.

You would think this would be easy to get sorted, as its a relatively easy job and wouldn't take all that long, but we can't find anyone reccomended to do it.. does anyone on here run or work for a firm who offers a service which may be suitable, or have a mate/relative who run a similar service?