RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Suspension confusion..
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>

JonnyCJ

United Kingdom 
Suspension confusion..

My 4.2 SC was dropping down on the left hand side. Tried pulling the suspension fuse and it seemed that the whole of the left side was dropping, although mainly the front.

Decided to rebuild the front valve block with new seals and reinstalled everything to find that the right hand side is now dropping. I think I’ve eliminated the air struts themselves as the left hand front is fine.

Can a whole side drop ? From what I’ve read it’s either the whole front or whole rear if the valve block is faulty.

I’m now an expert in getting to the front valve block. It’s a right pain in the ass for the 4.2 as there’s an auxiliary radiator in the way and 2 x hidden 8mm bolts, which whilst easy to remove, can take 5 mins or an hour to get back in.

Looking for a bit of guidance before I go in there for the 4th time this weekend.

Thanks in advance !

Post #631765 Sun Mar 19 2023 1:19pm
Andy K

England 2005 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Rimini Red

So with fuse removed, right front dropping ?

If it’s a pain to access the valve block, maybe buy a new one.
Or service again, but don’t refit the difficult parts till the next day when you have confidence it was successful

Post #631766 Sun Mar 19 2023 1:33pm
JonnyCJ

United Kingdom 

Thanks Andy - yep, front right dropping this time and pretty quickly. Typically the tab on the electrical connector broke off and I didn’t realise, so having stripped everything and put it back together I was getting a suspension fault. Stripped down again to find the connector hanging loose.

After that happened twice I tie wrapped in on, hence being an expert in stripping down.

Will I need to clear all the fault codes each time, just wondering if that’ll affect anything, although with the fuse pulled the car can’t talk to the suspension ?