Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > Maintenance & Modifications > newbie advice required
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>

nebc100

Luxembourg 2008 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Java Black
newbie advice required

Hello All,

I am a newbie here as I am only in the searching stage for a RRS.

I currently have a td6 L322, and a D2 TD5.

I am thinking of replacing the D2, and have seen a couple of RRS that are within my budget (almost nothing)

My L322 and D2 both have very high mileage (280000km and 325000km respectively) and both run perfectly.

So my question(s)...

Am i right in thinking that the RRS TdV6 2.7 will also manage as well as the L322 or D2 so long as well maintained?

I have seen one in particular not far from me. 180k km, and they want €10000. It is from 2006.

Is there any advice that you can give me of specific things to check?

I have the IID tool so can check for errors, but i am not a mechanic so any advice would be apreciated.

How reliable are the engine and gearbox on the 2.7?

Thanks

Nick

Post #533898 Sun Aug 27 2017 12:06pm
Johnski

Wales 2012 Range Rover Sport SDV6 HSE Lux Sumatra Black

I would say the newer 3.0 SDV6 engine is the better one to go for.

Cannot confirm on reliability, how long is a length of string? Whistle as some run and run, and others have reported lots of problems.

Some of our more technically experienced members will be along to pass comment I'm sure. John

RRS MY12 SDV6 HSE. Sumatra Black/Ebony & Walnut + Dynamic Pack, + Cold Climate Pack + Memory Pack, Digital TV/DVD, Premium Leather, Cornering Lights, Cooler/Fridge Box, & most Options.

Post #533923 Sun Aug 27 2017 9:57pm
geoffsnook

Wales 2005 Range Rover Sport Supercharged HSE Java Black

Things like timing belts and oil pumps need to be checked as they are known to go and if they go its a new engine and full service history to start with is a must Thumbs Up

Post #533934 Mon Aug 28 2017 7:40am
RRSTDV8