RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > In Car Electronics > '06 Range Rover Sport Logic 7 Head Unit Install Need Help
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1

tennesseerover

United States 2006 Range Rover Sport 4.4 V8 HSE Lux Sumatra Black
'06 Range Rover Sport Logic 7 Head Unit Install Need Help

Hi, first post here. I have a 2006 Range Rover Sport HSE with the Logic 7 system (It's got the DVD player and back and the TV screens in the headrests. I wanted to replace the factory head unit and keep my navigation screen working. I stumbled upon http://www.rrsport.co.uk/forum/topic38089.html and it got me started down this path. I saw some great installs on that thread and could use some help. I have zero experience with car audio installation. I have tons of experiencing building PCs, network and low voltage wiring in homes, etc so this should just be basic circuits and I can figure some stuff out, I like to learn. I am having trouble figuring out what the factory wiring goes to and what each color does. I have taken everything apart as the others in the other thread have. I see the car has some sort of Fiber optic loop.

I have taken apart the factory head unit and got it down to to just the small part without the 6 disc changer. I purchased the connects2 wiring in the picture and the steering wheel jack for the steering wheel controls. Just to test it, I hooked the aftermarket headunit up to power and just the steering wheel control wiring and it worked for volume, mode, etc.

Here's what I'd like to do with the help of all the knowledgeable individuals on here:
1. Get the aftermarket unit working.
2. Keep the original navigation screen functionality.
3. Use the factory microphone for the hands free phone with the aftermarket unit if possible.
4. Not mess up any of the functionality of the DVD playback & rear entertainment system.