RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > General > How many miles from a set of tyres?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1

keith

United Kingdom 2005 Range Rover Sport 4.4 V8 HSE Buckingham Blue
How many miles from a set of tyres?

Hi All,

Just a general question regarding the average amount of miles you can expect from a set of tyres. I'm new to the 4x4 game and don't expect to get anything like the mileage I got with my 5 series (30K+ per set).

I have Goodyear Wranglers fitted but know that some cars are supplied with Continentals. Is there a big difference? I think the Continentals are a bit more expensive but if they last longer I would change next time I need some.

Keith 4.4HSE Buckingham Blue
Alpaca Premium Leather, Rhodium
Dynamic Pack, PTI

Post #3118 Mon Oct 10 2005 10:53am
RRfan

Scotland 

I had a P38 RR 2.5 DT which managed 48k on first set then changed for alloys when second set were at 96k - and where still averaging 2.2mm depth - Pirelli Scorpion tyres second time.
I would start looking for a change in about 3-4 years time....

Clearly, how you drive and model type (i.e. S/C v TDV6) will make a difference to wear. RRSprt HSE TDV6 - Artic Frost, Tow pack, Privacy glass.

Previous 10 yrs with P38 JE Engineered, coil sprung DT
Previous 10 yrs Classic V8 Supercharged

Post #3126 Mon Oct 10 2005 12:55pm
keith

I didn't think you get anywhere near that kind of mileage. I have the 4.4 so maybe I can budget for about 30K?

Do they wear evenly front and rear or should I swap them around?

Dynamic Pack, PTI

Post #3127 Mon Oct 10 2005 1:04pm
RRfan

Scotland 

I can only go on my P38 but the wear on those was nearly even all round - meaning a large expense to replace all four at the same time! I also reckon you should replace both tyres on the same axle - not for any great technical reason as modern diffs should be able to handle the slight difference in diameters - it just seems like a more mechanically sympathetic way of doing things.