RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > General > My first ever diesel engine.
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>

Wilson

England 2007 Range Rover Sport TDV8 HSE Stornoway Grey
My first ever diesel engine.

In 19 years of driving and more vehicles than I can remember I have never owned a diesel until my new 07 TDV8. Therefore I have no experience in what diesel to use etc.

With petrol, I had unleaded 95, super unleaded 97 and Ultra / Momentum at 99... I think I remember there being a 98ron petrol once too! some previous cars having to have the higher rating and lower for less performance cars etc.

However, I want to make sure I'm putting the right diesel or at least avoiding a bad diesel if any... I seem to remember some petrol stations having two different diesels and seeing something called city diesel somewhere whatever that is?

Any advise if it matters or a lesson on different diesels would be very much appreciated.

Post #476250 Tue Oct 13 2015 2:28pm
Lost for Words

United Kingdom 

Pretty much any old diesel is fine. I don't believe in the rip-off stuff. High octane petrol is just that, but diesel has naff all of an octane rating in any form. You could consider adding two-stroke oil though (lots of info on Disco3 and Freel2 Wink ).

Others may disagree, but I also say that sticking to "premium brands" (i.e. BP, Shell etc.) is also tosh - it's all bought wholesale from the same places and it all has to meet the required standards...

Thumbs Up Visiting from DISCO3.CO.UK
2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 Auto HSE Zambezi Silver

Post #476254 Tue Oct 13 2015 3:10pm
Wilson

I tend to agree with what you say about brands, but my knowledge is limited. I just remember from one of my previous performance cars it was recommended to use Momentum 99 petrol, and that was a Tesco fuel, so it kind of went against what I hear about avoiding supermarket fuel and similar rumours.