RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > General > Grip Or Lack Of
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1

Pufftmw

United Kingdom 2007 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Stornoway Grey
Grip Or Lack Of

OK, I'm new to this off-roading milarky but I'm wondering what I need to do or are the forces of nature against me.

*I have Grabber UHPs on the front and Pirellis on the rear, which I know are not ideal off-roading tyres.

I own some land in Ireland, which one day might be an MTB trail park. Some of it is quite steep in places. One of my current tasks is to keep the growth back, so that its accessible. With that in mind, have strimmed the paths. Being lazy, I don't want to carry all the strimmers/hedge clippers/spades/fuel etc up the hills all the time, so elected to drive.

Day 1, freshly strimmed, dry and I go straight up what is probably 35 degree hill. Overnight it rains and not a chance the next morning.
That evening, when it has dried a bit, take RRS up 25 degree hill with no issue. Next morning, after rain, not a chance.

I had it on Snow/Mud and Low Ratio + Raised

Should I be using any different settings? Would AT tyres make any/much/all the difference? Any advice would be great.

Otherwise I have to use my tracked dumper which storms it but is really slow!

Post #464220 Wed Jun 10 2015 12:24pm
Bodsy
Site Sponsor

United Kingdom 

AT tyres would of course increase the traction provided. Assuming you have 19" wheels, then the Goodyear Duratrac are the most rugged you can get in std 19" guise. Although they are 255/55/19 not 255/50/19.

I have these and they go pretty much anywhere so far.
Not overly noisy on road either. but road tyres, whilst good, will easily get clogged up with a little rain on a dry track. Bodsys Brake Bible
Software Updates Contact me
RRS Timed Heat/Remote kits - Contact me
BAS Engine Re-maps/ EGR Blank EuIII and EuIV
Clock On The Dash/ SNOTM /3Flash / BT Update /Service Reset/Error Codes read\ Gearbox Reset
See it HERE