RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > General (L494) > Start-Stop Issues. Anyone else?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1

Alex08

United Kingdom 
Start-Stop Issues. Anyone else?

Had the car now for just over a week and generally very happy with it - not convinced about the Keyless entry though (which I did not order but appeared) as it caused Mrs Alex08 distress as she couldn't get the car to lock (!) and wouldn't leave it unlocked in the car park....... How do you test it is locked if your arms aren't long enough to hold the key out of reach?

Anyway my major issue with the car is the start/stop system. I have this on other cars and it is fine - triggers if you have the clutch down and are stationary. However it is different in the RRS - if you have the footbrake on and you are stopped it switches off the engine. Fine, BUT - not when you are stopped to reverse into a parking space and the engine cuts out before you can select reverse. Or if you are at traffic lights and you arrive and stop just as they change - engine has cut out. In both cases it restarts fine but the engine in being cycled unnecessarily. Or you are stopped and put the handbrake on and release the footbrake - engine starts. I don't want to be sitting at lights or in traffic queues with my brake lights on all of the time. I want to be able to select neutral, put the handbrake on and not have the engine start until I select drive with the footbrake on.

In my opinion the system is too sensitive - it should have a 5 second delay before activating when stopped and the footbrake is active to allow for another action, such as selecting reverse.

Anyone else have issues with this? Any solutions other that switching it off completely? Is there a dealer adjustable setting?

Post #417177 Mon Mar 10 2014 10:54am
philmw

United Kingdom 2012 Range Rover Sport Supercharged Sumatra Black

Do the mirrors fold when you lock?