RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > Faults & Fixes > Fuel Tank - fuel leak
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1

Hugh Haddow

Scotland 2013 Range Rover Sport 3.0 TDV6 HSE Bali Blue
Fuel Tank - fuel leak

Just returned from the dealer having a deisel leak at the tank investigated, I'm informed that the problem is a 'rodent infestation' on top of the tank and it/they had knawed thro' the plastic elbo on top of the tank.
Had a look and there was certainly plenty of leaf debris there and signs of abbration to the elbo.
But I'm no expert. Dealership stated they have seen it on 3 other ocations on RRS, RR and Disco.
Soloution is apparently a new tank.
Comments welcolm.

Post #317390 Fri Oct 14 2011 2:03pm
DrLex

Iceland 

It is indeed a known problem- do a search on the D3 site for tales (?tails) of woe.
I had a new tank installed by way of an insurance claim, but I know of one fix being Tiger Seal on the hole. Workshop time was two hours, and bear in mind that dropping and re-affixing the tank may loosen the sender units inside, so check gauge readings before and after the job.

Post #317395 Fri Oct 14 2011 3:00pm
Hugh Haddow

Scotland 2013 Range Rover Sport 3.0 TDV6 HSE Bali Blue

Many thanks DrLex.
It seemed up there with alian abduction.
I may need to apologise to the dealer.

Post #317405 Fri Oct 14 2011 5:44pm
DrLex

Iceland 

You're welcome.
If you do go for a repair, put something noxious over the remaining part of the elbow. I'm led to believe that the current tanks have a less tasty construction. Don't put the Warfarin-based rat poison out- I had a thirst-crazed mouse drown in the water bottle of my 60s British sports car, but not before it had gnawed through an elbow on the fuel line. Forty years hadn't changed the problem...

Post #317412 Fri Oct 14 2011 6:43pm
sregnif

Scotland 2006 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Giverney Green

Hi,