RRSPORT.CO.UK

    Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > In Car Electronics > No power to harmon kardon amp
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
 
Shaunbop



Member Since: 27 Mar 2018
Location: Leeds
Posts: 14

United Kingdom 2006 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Java Black
No power to harmon kardon amp

Ive just fit a aftermarket head unit using incartech's wiring loom that retains to satnav screen.
The headunit is up and working as it should but the screen is staying on the landrover screen. Ive spoke to incartech they told me I might not have power to the hk amp. ive checked and that's the problem, does the hk amp run off a separate fuse at all? if so whats the location?

Post #560943 Sun Jul 08 2018 10:46am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Col



Member Since: 02 Sep 2012
Location: Hawkes Bay NZ
Posts: 2012

New Zealand 2013 Range Rover Sport Supercharged Autobiography Santorini Black

Have a look at Fuse No.42 30amp passengers footwell fuse box.

Cheers
Col

Post #560944 Sun Jul 08 2018 10:56am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Shaunbop



Member Since: 27 Mar 2018
Location: Leeds
Posts: 14

United Kingdom 2006 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Java Black

Thank you ill go look now

Post #560945 Sun Jul 08 2018 10:57am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Shaunbop



Member Since: 27 Mar 2018
Location: Leeds
Posts: 14

United Kingdom 2006 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Java Black

That fuse is ok

Post #560953 Sun Jul 08 2018 2:09pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Andy K



Member Since: 18 Sep 2015
Location: GL
Posts: 2219

England 2005 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Rimini Red

What pin on the amp have u measured to conclude the amp don't have power?

Post #560964 Sun Jul 08 2018 6:01pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Shaunbop



Member Since: 27 Mar 2018
Location: Leeds
Posts: 14

United Kingdom 2006 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Java Black

I've checked all the wires in the grey plug with the multimeter

Post #561109 Tue Jul 10 2018 12:21pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Scrumpy



Member Since: 11 Nov 2016
Location: London
Posts: 343

United Kingdom 2005 Range Rover Sport Supercharged Java Black

Don't know if it helps but when I fitted my kit from IncarTech, I was told that I will lose the HK amp and can either make do with the new head unit's build in amp or buy a separate amp to power the subwoofer in the rear tailgate which is what I did and everything worked fine (other than lose the front centre speaker but not noticeable).
Maybe give IncarTech another call just to clarify this? --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If we all point our RR's in the same direction and accelerate at the same time can we turn back time?

Post #561112 Tue Jul 10 2018 1:24pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Shaunbop



Member Since: 27 Mar 2018
Location: Leeds
Posts: 14

United Kingdom 2006 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Java Black

I've spoke to them mate everything works just not the centre screen. Incartech told me I've probably lost power to the hk amp

Post #561119 Tue Jul 10 2018 1:54pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Andy K



Member Since: 18 Sep 2015
Location: GL
Posts: 2219

England 2005 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Rimini Red

there is an optical fibre network between the headunit, screen and amp. (orange)

All 3 components need power for the network to work, unless you have unplugged the optical connection from the amp, released the orange fibre and pushed them together, that could be an issue

Have you got the back part of the old head unit still connected ?

Post #561129 Tue Jul 10 2018 5:24pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Shaunbop



Member Since: 27 Mar 2018
Location: Leeds
Posts: 14

United Kingdom 2006 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Java Black

Yes I have the old bit of the head unit in place still. The optics cable is connected. It just seems I have no power to the hk amp via the grey plug.

Post #561171 Wed Jul 11 2018 7:27am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Shaunbop



Member Since: 27 Mar 2018
Location: Leeds
Posts: 14

United Kingdom 2006 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Java Black

...

Post #561212 Wed Jul 11 2018 4:51pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Andy K



Member Since: 18 Sep 2015
Location: GL
Posts: 2219

England 2005 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Rimini Red

I agree with Col.

The thick red wire, should have direct power from fuse 42

Post #561213 Wed Jul 11 2018 6:10pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Shaunbop



Member Since: 27 Mar 2018
Location: Leeds
Posts: 14

United Kingdom 2006 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Java Black

I'll double check tomorrow.

Post #561226 Wed Jul 11 2018 8:49pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Post Reply
Post Reply  Back to top
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT

Jump to  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >
Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Site Copyright © 2005-2018 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis
RRSPORT.CO.UK RSS Feed - All Forums

Switch to Mobile site