RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > General (L494) > Cash/loan vs PCP?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>

kismet110

United Kingdom 2005 Range Rover Sport Supercharged Java Black
Cash/loan vs PCP?

Hi all

I understand what PCP is (and HP etc) but confuzzled as to the path to take.

Plan A - I currently own a First Edition SC which p/ex would fetch around £6.5/7K. I have another £20K cash and intention was to take a 2 year low APR bank loan of around £24K giving me £50K+ to spend on a 2014 SC. Monthly loan payment around a grand.

(I don't drive lots, around 5K a year, so one with current higher mileage would balance out overall after 2/3 years ownership.)

Plan B - Lately the SVRs and MY18 RRS have caught my attention so now thinking of PCP instead then after 3 years review accordingly. I know first 3 years is where the big depreciation occurs so can always hand it back but I am a contractor & work is not 'guaranteed' so a little more risk. Monthly PCP around £1200+

Head says Plan A; I'd own the car, most of the depreciation has already taken place and after 2/3 years I could get a decent p/ex towards a newer one.

Heart however says Plan B; don't really own it (although I could of course at end of term if I want to pay off the remainder) but it would be brand new, the depreciation not a factor, LR warranty in place and more peace of mind (although that may be debatable).

I know it's my decision end of day but any hints, tips, suggestions, experiences would be very helpful Rolling Eyes

Post #553053 Tue Apr 03 2018 2:52pm
Slim444

United Kingdom 2011 Range Rover Sport 3.0 TDV6 HSE Stornoway Grey

Hi Kismet,

I'm a contractor too, so know exactly where you're coming from with this!
Just paid off the balance of my PCP on my 2011 RRS, which I 'bought' 2.5 years ago. While the monthly payments were easily affordable, even with the relatively low interest rate (7.9% APR) the total payable was a big chunk of money.