RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > General (L494) > Tax question on financing a new RRS
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1

bluestone

United Kingdom 
Tax question on financing a new RRS

I recently took delivery of my new RR sport which I purchased outright for £69k. I work as a contractor and take my earnings as dividends through a LTD company. My dividends are engineered to keep me in a basic rate tax band.

Previously my accountant has always told be to buy cars in my personal name and claim mileage from my company at 45 per mile (I do around 8k business miles p/a).

Given that this vehicle has cost significantly more than my previous cars, would it have been beneficial to buy it in the company name instead? I'm not entirely up to speed with BIK tax etc, but would be interested to know how others would have structured the purchase of their vehicles in the same situation.

Thanks in advance MY16 (65) RRS, HSE, White, 21" 507s, Pan/Black Roof, 7 Seats, Ebony/Cirrus, Surround Cams, Fully Color Coded

Post #475818 Fri Oct 09 2015 9:47am
crammy

United Kingdom 2007 Range Rover Sport Supercharged Stornoway Grey

http://cccfcalculator.hmrc.gov.uk/CCF0.aspx

i would check that out. you are normally a lot better of charging the company for fuel.

A friend of mine has bought himself an audi s5 used for 26000. he was going to put through company but it would of cost him 13000 a year in tax. instead he paid for the car and charges the company millage. it is his company

Post #475822 Fri Oct 09 2015 10:41am
wilf

Just taken the same decision - and running it as a personal vehicle came out trumps.

But still worth getting your accountant to look at the figures. MY2016 HSE D SDV6 - gone due to fuel dilution problems.

By the age of 50 you have the face you deserve - George Orwell.

Post #475824 Fri Oct 09 2015 10:56am
myfirstrrs

United Kingdom