RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > General (L494) > Powered Side Steps
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1

iainm

United Kingdom 
Powered Side Steps

Newbie here - just took delivery of my Aleutian Silver HSE dynamic this morning - impressions coming from X5 are first rate. Went for a number of options as was spoiled on the X5

HUD
contrast Pan Roof
Meridian 19 speakers
Remote Heat
Speed limit display
Soft close doors
In control Apps - Waste of Money IMO
Mood Lighting - Pointless
Park assist
Surround Camera
High beam assist
Powerfold mirrors

Stopped short on powered side steps, but having played with them on a demo I want to install them

Question is
Why the HUGE disparity in pricing - Supplying Dealer want 3k
Accessories leaflet supplied with car £2160
Dealer in Exeter on ebay £1800

Can anyone shed some light on this and what should I be paying? I'm tempted with Exeter but its miles away!

TIA

Post #457657 Mon Mar 30 2015 3:25pm
RobF

United Kingdom 

I think your views on some of the options concurs with others: mood lighting is a waste of time, some people like the In Control Apps but there's nothing I've read that makes me lust after it.

The steps are great, unless you do a lot of offroad. If you are driving down tracks the steps are intelligent and don't deploy, as I found when driving down some farm tracks in the Black mountains on a shooting outing late last year. It's a first-world problem having to step all the way down from the car......

First, I would point your dealer towards this page: http://accessories.landrover.com/gb/en/ran...teps-kit/. Any dealer charging more than £2,752 wants a rocket up his bum. I confess I did pay £3k for mine but that was before LR published fitted prices. I'm still smarting......

£2,160 was probably the parts only cost, as is the Fleabay cost. I'm all for fitting my own mudflaps but it would take a brave man to fit these steps DIY.

Post #457658 Mon Mar 30 2015 3:50pm
Tim in Scotland