RRSPORT.CO.UK

Forum   Gallery   Shop   Sponsors
Home > Orders (L494) > New model dilemma
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1

Smarticus

United Kingdom 2005 Range Rover Sport TDV6 HSE Rimini Red
New model dilemma

I have been a happy owner of RRS's since their launch, with a TDv6 originally and for the last 5 years a TDv8. My current vehicle still does everything I ask of it bloody well. It's very powerful, great to drive, fits me like a glove, reliable (just one issue with a turbo in 120,000 miles) works brilliantly and safely in the road & weather conditions of rural Northumberland and just suits me down to the ground.

But these things can't last for ever (can they ?). I have been saying for several years that I can't think of any car I would rather have and have used this as my reason for keeping the current vehicle. But now the new version is coming on stream, I am tempted. As I see it I have the following choices :

Order a SDv6 HSE for September 13
Order a TDv6 SE for January 14
Wait to order a SDv8 for (say) mid 14 (or whenever these come online)

Cost, performance and reliability ( of new vehicle and my existing vehicle ) are all considerations.

I know in theory the SDv6 has the performance of the TDv8 - but I am not convinced. The TDv8 is chipped (has been since 4 months old) and pulls like a Train, accelerates like a rocket and handles like a car half it's mass and just "feels" great. So perhaps the SDv6 would disappoint and I should wait for the V8 diesel.

Or if I am going to accept lower performance, perhaps the TDv6 would be adequate, and the spec of the SE includes everything I want (i prefer basic to bling) at a price that looks more reasonable. I am after all getting older and perhaps wiser and should be looking to save for my retirement rather than splashing the cash Big Cry